Junior dairy exhibitors celebrated at state fair

posted Aug. 13, 2018 8:56 a.m. (CDT)
email article print
font size - +

The Supreme Champion Cow of the 2018 Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show was the Champion Red and White Cow — Mead-Manor Def Adeline-Red — exhibited by Michael Moede of Kewaunee County. The Reserve Supreme Champion Cow was Butlerview GC Awesome, the Champion Holstein Cow exhibited by Grady Wendorf of Dodge County. Both received a $1,000 cash prize.

The Supreme Champion Heifer was Siemers Avch Greeter-Red, the Champion Red and White Heifer exhibited by Vanessa Roberts of Manitowoc County. The Reserve Supreme Champion Heifer was the Champion Holstein Heifer — Tombeth Ettakaw-ET — exhibited by Sarah Kearns of Crawford County. Both received a $500 cash prize.

The Supreme Champion Showperson Junior Dairy Show was Ashley Hagenow, 17, of Columbia County, who received a $1,000 cash prize.

The Best Doe in the Junior Dairy Goat Show was exhibited by Lexi Olsen of Rock County, while the Supreme Champion Showperson was Lyndsay Fenner, 19, of Sheboygan County. Each received a $1,000 cash prize.

Other dairy exhibitors receiving a $1,000 cash prize were:

Champion Ayrshire Cow — Brynn Emery, Jefferson County.

Champion Brown Swiss Cow — Matthew Thompson, Lafayette County.

Champion Guernsey Cow — Kate Nuttleman, La Crosse County.

Champion Jersey Cow — Noah Bilz, Marathon County.

Champion Milking Shorthorn Cow — Kalee Schaefer, Lafayette County.

Other exhibitors receiving a $500 cash prize included:

Champion Ayrshire Heifer — Lydia Rasmussen, Shawano County.

Champion Brown Swiss Heifer — Otis Johnson, Rock County.

Champion Guernsey Heifer — Breanna Fritsch, Shawano County.

Champion Jersey Heifer — Alleah Anderson, Barron County.

Champion Milking Shorthorn Heifer — Brett Groebner, Lafayette County.

In the Junior Dairy Goat Show, the Champion Junior Doe for each breed included the following:

Alpine — Levi Dulmes, Sheboygan County.

LaMancha — Gretchen Kelley, La Crosse County.

Nigerian Dwarf — Macy Borreson, La Crosse County.

Nubian — Naleah Nerby, La Crosse County.

Oberhasli — Aubrey Carroll Sheboygan County.

Recorded Grade — Kristine Mumm, Rock County.

Saanen — Levi Dulmes, Sheboygan County.

Sable — Brooke Brady, Waukesha County.

Toggenburg — Morgan Cooper, Fond du Lac County.

Grand Champion Doe winners in each breed included:

Alpine — Lexi Olsen, Rock County.

LaMancha — Josie Stringfield, Dodge County.

Nigerian Dwarf — Lyndsay Fenner, Sheboygan County.

Nubian — Naleah Nerby, La Crosse County

Oberhasli — Levi Dulmes, Sheboygan County.

Recorded Grade — Lexi Olsen, Rock County.

Saanen — Jaxon Dooley, Rock County.

Sable — Caleb Considine, Columbia County.

Toggenburg — Taelyn Smith, Waukesha County.

The Dairyland Youth Celebration held Aug. 5 at the state fair celebrated the accomplishments of the almost 600 exhibitors who participated in the junior dairy and junior dairy goat shows at the fair. The following award winners were recognized:

Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board Scholarships ($1,000): Carmen Haack, Algoma; Erica Helmer, Plymouth; Brandon Strupp, Hartford; Stephanie Thiel, Plymouth; Casey Waite, Janesville; Colin Wussow, Cecil

James W. Crowley Leadership Awards: Ashley Hagenow, Columbia County, scholarship; Colin Wussow, Shawano County, scholarship; Jared Zutz, Manitowoc County, scholarship; Kelli Marschall, Barron County, Al Schultz Dairy Science Scholarship; Lily Charapata, Marinette County; Marie Haase, Polk County; Serenity Hetke, Rusk County; Hannah Nelson, St. Croix County; Kylie Nickels, Dodge County; Austin Raymond, St. Croix County; Mitchell Schroepfer, Langlade County; James Stille, Outagamie County; Emily Udulutch, Waukesha County; Colin Uecker, Jefferson County; and Collin Wille, Barron County.

Dairy Knowledge Masters: Judging Contest, Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County; Skillathon Contest, Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County; Quiz Contest, Kelli Marschall, Barron County; Communications Contest; Carmen Haack, Kewaunee County; First Overall, Carmen Haack, Kewaunee County; Second Overall, Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County; Third Overall, Alyssa Seitz, Outagamie County; Fourth Overall, Geneva Nunes, Chippewa County; and Fifth Overall, Mikayla Peper, Polk County.

John Klossner Award: Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County.

Dairy Goat Knowledge Masters: Judging Contest, Caitlyn Engelbrecht, Manitowoc County; Skillathon Contest, Shelby Tone, Dane County; Quiz Contest, Naleah Nerby, La Crosse County; Communications Contest, Mason Spencer, Rock County; Industry Interview Contest, Helayna Nerby, La Crosse County; First Overall, Mason Spencer, Rock County; Second Overall, Shelby Tone, Dane County; Third Overall, Naleah Nerby, La Crosse County; Fourth Overall, Kimberly Van Donsel, Kewaunee County; and Fifth Overall, Lyndsay Fenner, Sheboygan County.

AgSource Production Awards: Ayrshire, Brynn Emery, Jefferson County; Brown Swiss, Dylan Herbrand, Dane County; Guernsey, Olivia Holzman, St. Croix County; Holstein, Carly Strauss, Jefferson County; Jersey, Hannah Ullom, Dunn County; Milking Shorthorn, Nickolas Giovan, Washington County; and Red and White, Carmen Haack, Kewaunee County.

Showmanship winners were: Age 12, Cole Sarbacker, Dane County; age 13, Ava Endres, Dane County; age 14, Aaliyah Borchert, Wood County; age 15, Sarah Hagenow, Columbia County; age 16, Kylie Nickels, Dodge County; age 17, Ashley Hagenow, Columbia County; age 18, Shanelle Borth, Pierce County; and age 19, Benjamin Buske, Dodge County.

Dairy Education Display winners were the following:

Large County: First, Kewaunee County; second, Green County; third, St. Croix County; fourth, Manitowoc County; fifth, Sheboygan County; sixth, Fond du Lac County; seventh, Polk County; eighth, Barron County; ninth, Shawano County; and tenth, Clark County

Small County: First, Calumet County; second, Trempealeau County; third, Richland County; fourth, Crawford County; fifth, Dunn County; sixth, Walworth County; seventh, Monroe County; eighth, Pierce County; ninth, Chippewa County; tenth, Eau Claire County.

Dairy Goat Education Display winners were La Crosse County in first, Kewaunee County in second and Rock County in third.

Dairy Herdsmanship winners included:

Large County: First, Polk County; second, Waukesha County; third, Barron County; fourth, Clark County; fifth, Kewaunee County; sixth, Dodge County; seventh, Dane County; eighth, Sauk County; ninth, Sheboygan County; tenth, Green County.

Small County: First, Chippewa County; second, Calumet County; third, Eau Claire County; fourth, Crawford County; fifth, Richland County; sixth, Trempealeau County; seventh, Brown County; eighth, Rusk County; ninth, Monroe County; tenth, Dunn County.

Dairy Goat Herdsmanship winners were Washington County in first, Waukesha County in second and Kewaunee County in third.

Spirit Award winners were Polk County for dairy and Rock County for dairy goats. These counties received $100, Giant Slide tickets and their county name on the Dairyland Youth Celebration Spirit Trophy.

© 2015 The Country Today, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved. Design by Fountainhead, LLC dba RS Design.
701 S. Farwell St., Eau Claire, WI. 54701 / 715.833.9200